If you have granted Full Disk Access to any AI app on your Mac, today is a good day to open System Settings and check who has it, because Apple clearly thinks most of us have been too casual about it. Not surprised about this at all. Security permissions are something that many people just move through quickly when installing an app, similar to the Terms and Conditions or License Agreement (when was the last time you actually looked at those).
While it’s a good move to lock down Full Disk Access, I wonder how this will be handled for apps that already have access. Will we get prompted to re-grant access? If so, I sense a lot of grumbling or panicking coming around this. Will previously granted apps just sail on through? I doubt it.
I will have to review my own Mac app (AppAudit) that does ask for permissions. But when I built it, I wanted the permission review and granting to be extremely clear and transparent, so I added a dedicated panel that explains it. Still, I’m sure I will have to update the app.