Public iCloud links will soon get a content check, so if you share family photos that way, consider switching to “People you choose.” File and photo sharing is extremely easy with services like iCloud, Google Drive and Photos, Microsoft OneDrive, and others. It seems like Apple is taking a first step toward making its service a little more secure.
The important thing to do, even before just blindly sharing with people, is to change from “Anyone” to “People you choose.” Yes, it may take a few more clicks to select those recipients, but it goes a long way toward doing the action safely and securely.
Once this update rolls out, if you continue to share to “Anyone,” Apple may take behind-the-scenes action to “move, refuse, modify, remove, or delete the content.” Bottom line: public (“Anyone”) links BAD, private or selective (“People you choose”) links GOOD.